About the Journal

Focus and Scope

The journal has a regional focus on southern Africa. Manuscripts that are accepted for consideration to publish in the journal must address energy issues in southern Africa or have a clear component relevant to southern Africa, including research that was set-up or designed in the region. The southern African region is considered to be constituted by the following fifteen (15) countries: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Within this broad field of energy research, topics of particular interest include energy efficiency, modelling, renewable energy, poverty, sustainable development, climate change mitigation, energy security, energy policy, energy governance, markets, technology and innovation.

The Journal of Energy in Southern Africa (JESA) is inter-disciplinary, with contributions accepted from energy studies, and related disciplines including: engineering, economics, sociology, political science, history, geography, public policy, science and technology studies, environmental science, international relations. Multi-disciplinary submissions are particularly welcome.

Publication Frequency

Until September 2023, the journal published one volume per annum, and each volume consisted of four issues in early March, June, September and December respectively. Since October 2023 the journal follows a continuous publication approach, where articles become available immediately after being approved for publication. Only one volume and one issue therefore is published per annum.


JESA is indexed/listed by the following:

Usage & Impact

Statistics are generated through OJS, as well as all other platforms indexing JESA.

Access selected statistics at:


Journal History

This journal was established in 1990 at the Energy Research Centre, University of Cape Town, South Africa. The Energy Research Centre was formed from a merger of activities of the Energy Research Institute and the Energy Development Research Centre at the University of Cape Town.


August 2023 - currently: Prof Komla Folly

July 2020 - July 2023: Assoc Prof Pieter Levecque

1 January 2016 - June 2020: Dr Mokone J. Roberts PhD, Pr.Sci.Nat., MSAIMM